ISO 9001 certification

ISO 9001 defines the criteria for a quality management system (QMS). It belongs to the ISO 9000 family of QMS. Organizations can only certify to this standard within the ISO 9000 family. They can thus align to it to demonstrate their ability to produce high-quality products/services consistently. The other 9000 standards provide supporting information and guidelines. The latest revised version of ISO 9001 was released in the year 2015. It is referred to as ISO 9001:2015. Individuals can obtain certification to become an ISO 9001 Certified Lead Auditor to audit other organizations.

ISO 9001 sets the criteria and framework for determining what an organization must include in its QMS. Opting for ISO 9001 certification helps companies build brand recognition, enhance social credibility, and obtain customers’ trust and loyalty. Obtaining the certification in this standard helps them advertise to external auditors that their management systems effectively meet the requirements. The standard prompts organizations to continuously improve, eliminate inefficient procedures, and boost employee performance. The goal is to help organizations deliver efficiently and strengthen their foothold in the current marketplace.

Any organization, large or small, irrespective of its field of activity, can get certified to ISO 9001. While ISO develops international standards like ISO 9001, it does not issue the certificates. The external Certification Body (CB) or Registrar performs the certification. When selecting a CB, ensure that they use the relevant CASCO standard and are accredited. Check their market reputation, relevant experience, and customer testimonials to establish that they can perform the certification. Once your organization is certified to ISO 9001, when labeling your product/system, you should say it is “ISO 9001:2015 certified” instead of generalizing it as ISO certified.

Seven ISO 9001 Principles

  • Customer focus
  • Engagement of people
  • Process approach
  • Leadership
  • Improvement
  • Evidence-based decision making
  • Relationship management

What is the ISO 9001 Structure?

The ISO 9001:2015 requirements ensure the separation into 11 sections (also known as ISO 9001 clauses). It includes the following:

  • Clauses 0 to 3: Introduction, Scope, References, Terms, and Definitions
  • Clause 4: Context of the organization
  • Clause 5: Leadership and commitment
  • Clause 6: Planning for the QMS
  • Clause 7: Support & resource management
  • Clause 8: Operational planning and control
  • Clause 9: Performance evaluation
  • Clause 10: Improvement actions

What is the validity of ISO 9001 certification?

ISO 9001 certificates are valid for three years from the date of issue. Surveillance audits must be performed once per year during the validity period of the certificate except for the years when performing recertification audits. At the end of the three years, a full recertification audit is done, issuing a new certificate at the end of three years.

Benefits of ISO 9001 Certification

  • Increase efficiency: It helps implement processes and procedures that have a dedicated focus on quality.
  • Increased revenue: It presents opportunities to help you increase market share, win more contracts and tenders, and improve revenue streams.
  • International recognition: ISO 9001 has a worldwide acceptance, thus helping you access international trade.
  • Greater employee morale: It improves employee efficiency and coordination to reduce errors and increase productivity.

To Conclude:

These are the various things you should know about ISO 9001 certification. Certifying to this standard can help your organization streamline processes, from purchase to manufacturing, shipment, and service. It thus presents opportunities to maximize business profits and improve the bottom line.


Any questions?